A simple list of common shortcuts for Adobe Illustrator 2021
|
Action
|
Windows
|
MacOS
|
|
keyboard increment (10x)
|
Shift + Arrow
|
Shift + Arrow
|
|
Shortcuts
|
Ctrl + Opt + Shift + K
|
Cmd + Opt + Shift + K
|
|
Preferences
|
Ctrl + K
|
Cmd + K
|
|
Select an Object Behind
|
Ctrl + click
|
Cmd + click
|
|
Action
|
Windows
|
MacOS
|
|
Arc Tool: change direction
|
F
|
F
|
|
Blend Tool
|
W
|
W
|
|
Curvature Tool
|
Shift + `
|
Shift + `
|
|
Delete Anchor Point tool
|
-
|
-
|
|
Ellipse Tool
|
L
|
L
|
|
Eraser Tool
|
Shift + E
|
Shift + E
|
|
Erase along a selection
|
Erase Tool + Opt + click&drag
|
Erase Tool + Opt + click&drag
|
|
Free Transform Tool
|
E
|
E
|
|
Lasso Tool
|
Q
|
Q
|
|
Magic Wand Tool
|
Y
|
Y
|
|
Mesh Tool
|
U
|
U
|
|
Pen + Alt on a segment + optional Shift Key for perfect semi-circle
|
Pen + Alt on a segment + optional Shift Key for perfect semi-circle
|
Pen + Alt on a segment + optional Shift Key for perfect semi-circle
|
|
Perspective Grid Tool
|
Shift + P
|
Shift + P
|
|
Perspective Grid -> hide
|
Ctrl+Shift+I
|
Cmd+Shift+I
|
|
Pencil Tool
|
N
|
N
|
|
Rectangle Tool
|
M
|
M
|
|
Reflect Tool
|
O
|
O
|
|
Rotate Tool
|
R
|
R
|
|
Rotate & Duplicate
|
R + Alt + click to redefine the Ref Point, then Cmd + D
|
R + Alt + click to Redefine the Ref Point, then Cmd + D
|
|
Shape Builder Tool
|
Shift + M
|
Shift + M
|
|
Shaper Tool
|
Shift + N
|
Shift + N
|
|
Symbol Sprayer Tool
|
Shift + S
|
Shift + S
|
|
Transform Again
|
Ctrl + D
|
Cmd + D
|
|
Touch Type Tool
|
Shift + T
|
Shift + T
|
|
Warp Tool to use with alt key to change size and shape
|
Shift + R
|
Shift + R
|
|
Width Tool
|
Shift + W
|
Shift + W
|
|
Create a Blend
|
Ctrl + Alt + B
|
Cmd + Opt + B
|
|
Action
|
Windows
|
MacOS
|
|
Stroke or Fill Color Selection
|
X
|
X
|
|
Remove the selected color
|
/
|
/
|
|
Set Default Colors (B&W)
|
D
|
D
|
|
Live Paint Bucket Tool
|
K
|
K
|
|
Live Paint Selection Tool
|
Cmd + Shift + L
|
Cmd + Shift + L
|
|
Paintbrush Tool
|
B
|
B
|
|
Blob Brush Tool
|
Shift + B
|
Shift + B
|
|
Switch Drawing Mode
|
Shift + D
|
Shift + D
|
|
Gradient Tool
|
G
|
G
|
|
Join two or more paths. Must select paths first.
|
Ctrl + J
|
Cmd + J
|
|
Create corner or smooth join. Must select paths first.
|
Ctrl + Alt + J
|
Cmd + Opt + J
|
|
Action
|
Windows
|
MacOS
|
|
Fit Artboard in Window
|
Ctrl +0
|
Cmd +0
|
|
Fit All in Window
|
Alt + Ctrl + 0
|
Opt + Cmd +0
|
|
Pixel Preview
|
Ctrl + Opt + Y
|
Cmd + Opt + Y
|
|
Show/Hide Smart Guides
|
Ctrl + U
|
Cmd + U
|
|
Show Grid
|
Ctrl + '
|
Cmd + '
|
|
Snap to Grid
|
Ctrl + Shift + '
|
Cmd + Shift + '
|
|
Show/Hide Guides
|
Ctrl + ;
|
Cmd + ;
|
|
Show/Hide Edges
|
Ctrl + H
|
Cmd + H
|
|
View > Actual Size
|
Ctrl + 1
|
Cmd +1
|
|
View > Guides > Make Guides (of an object)
|
Ctrl + 5
|
Cmd + 5
|
|
View Outlines
|
Ctrl + Y
|
Cmd + Y
|
|
Zoom to view all artboards
|
Ctrl + Opt + 0
|
Cmd + Opt + 0
|
|
Hide the Artboards
|
Ctrl + Shift + H
|
Cmd + Shift + H
|
|
Navigate (Artboard Tool)
|
(Fn +) Shift + Up&Down Arrows
|
(Fn +) Shift + Up&Down Arrows
|
|
Action
|
Windows
|
MacOS
|
|
Object > Envelope Distort > Make with Warp
|
Ctrl + Alt + Shift +W
|
Cmd + Opt + Shift +W
|
|
Object > Envelope Distort > Make with Top Object
|
Ctrl + Alt + C
|
Cmd + Opt + C
|
|
Object > Envelope Distort > Make with Mesh
|
Ctrl + Alt + M
|
Cmd + Opt + M
|
|
Object > Clipping Mask > Make
|
Ctrl + 7
|
Cmd + 7
|
|
Action
|
Windows
|
MacOS
|
|
Bring Forward
|
Ctrl + ]
|
Cmd + ]
|
|
Bring to Front
|
Shift + Ctrl + ]
|
Shift + Cmd + ]
|
|
Compound Path > Create
|
Ctrl + 8
|
Cmd + 8
|
|
Deselect
|
Ctrl + Shift + A
|
Cmd + Shift + A
|
|
Group Objects
|
Ctrl + G
|
Cmd + G
|
|
Lock Selection
|
Ctrl + 2
|
Cmd + 2
|
|
New Layer
|
Ctrl + L
|
Cmd + L
|
|
Paste In Front
|
Ctrl + F
|
Cmd + F
|
|
Paste To Back
|
Ctrl + B
|
Cmd + B
|
|
Reset Bounding Box
|
Object > Transform > Reset Bounding Box
|
Object > Transform > Reset Bounding Box
|
|
Send Backward
|
Ctrl + [
|
Cmd + [
|
|
Send to Back
|
Shift + Ctrl + [
|
Shift + Cmd + [
|
|
Ungroup Objects
|
Shift + Ctrl + G
|
Shift + Cmd + G
|
|
Unlock All
|
Ctrl + Alt + 2
|
Cmd + Opt + 2
|
|
Select All in All Artboards
|
Ctrl + A
|
Cmd + A
|
|
Select All in Selected Artboards
|
Ctrl + Alt + A
|
Cmd + Opt + A
|
|
Export for Screen
|
Ctrl + Alt + E
|
Cmd + Alt +E
|
|
Package
|
Ctrl + Alt + Shift + P
|
Cmd + Opt + Shift + P
|
|
Place
|
Ctrl + Shift + P
|
Cmd + Shift + P
|
|
Show/Hide Edges
|
F3 (custom)
|
F3 (custom)
|
|
Save for Web
|
Ctrl + Alt + Shift + S
|
Cmd + Opt + Shift + S
|
|
Action
|
Windows
|
MacOS
|
|
Type > Create Outlines
|
Shift + Ctrl + O
|
Shift + Cmd + O
|
|
Paragraph Panel
|
Alt + Ctrl + T
|
Opt + Cmd + T
|
|
Character Panel
|
Ctrl + T
|
Cmd + T
|
Cheatography n. The art of mapping complex subjects into clear, instantly navigable reference guides.